I Am the Dream

I Am the Dream

On Monday, January 21, 2013, like many of you, I watched Barack Hussein Obama sworn into office for a second term as President of the United States.  And as I sat in from of my television, I found myself reciting the end of Maya Angelou’s poem, “Still I Rise”.

Out of the huts of history’s shame

I rise

Up from a past that’s rooted in pain

I rise

I’m a black ocean, leaping and wide,

Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.

Leaving behind nights of terror and fear

I rise

Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear

I rise

Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,

I am the dream and the hope of the slave.

I rise

I rise

I rise.

As we rise to achieve the fullness of our potential, let us not forget to reach back and lift another.
9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bernice
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 21:40:32

    Joyce, is this stamp? Did you color this? The shading is fantastic. If you did this card, you must take “novice” off the blog name. Very IMPRESSIVE!

    Reply

    • Joyce Irvin Harris
      Jan 26, 2013 @ 21:18:33

      Bernice, thank you for your encouragement! I did color this digital image. Surprised myself!!! I acknowledge that there are areas where I exhibit more growth than others. However, for right now I’m still very much a novice. But in “due season”…

      Blessings!

      Reply

  2. Bernice
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 21:41:27

    P.S. I forgot to ask: where did you buy this stamp?

    Reply

  3. Veronica
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 11:34:29

    Joyce, this is absolutely amazing! You did a phenomenal job and your project certainly speaks volumes. It most definitely was an awesome day!!!!! Veronica

    Reply

  4. Karen A.
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 17:46:55

    Joyce you did a fabulous job on coloring this. I never would have known if you hadn’t said. I agree with Bernice…time to remove “novice” from your blog title.

    Reply

  5. Susan
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 19:08:33

    Joyce, this is beautiful and so right on. You did a great job coloring the image.

    Reply

  6. gertrude61
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 08:30:00

    Joyce, your coloring is perfection. There’s no way I would ever attempt to color the faces of real people as you did. No way are you a novice – seriously.

    Reply

  7. obrooks770
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 15:03:16

    This is awesome & your coloring is beautiful. Novice no more, you’re a pro!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Still Waters

Thoughts of a 2nd Generation Korean-American Pastor and Mother

THE WIRE

by Pastor Robert Earl Houston

Redora Lee Card Designs

A Place To Begin Card Making

