Wish List

FNC_Challenge32010Dec11

This was my 2010 wish list designed to fill in my supply gaps and give me what I needed to “play with the Big Dawgz”. It was a mini layout made for one of the Scraps of Color Friday Night Challenges.  Oh, how I admired and envied the sistahs in the Friday Night Challenge! They could whip out masterpiece layouts and cards in 30 minutes or less.  By masterpiece, I mean artwork with decorative shapes, textured paper, flowers, ribbon, a sentiment, and “bling”. (“Bling” is any pearl, rhinestone or sparkly embellishment.) I had bought a Cricut Create (aka: mini Expression) and still couldn’t do what they did!  (That’s a tale for another post!) Our weekly Friday Night Challenge had become my Frustration Night Chaos.  What the heck was their secret???

In addition to skill and experience, they had the right tools!!! Now in all fairness to my hardly used Cricut and Gypsy that I never really learned to operate, I couldn’t do what they did because I didn’t have the right tools.  I was missing an embossing machine, a die cut machine that handled individual dies, and a set (or more) of shape dies. My Cricut is an excellent die cutting machine, but not the right machine for what I wanted to do.  Lesson learned: Know what you need to do what you desire.

BTW, Christmas 2010, I got everything on my list. A beautiful sweet sistah RAKed me (Hi Tina!) with several items including a border punch and I bought the rest with my Christmas money.

So what should be on a novice papercrafter’s wish list? You’ll have to come back and read my next entry.  See you later!

Thanks for stopping by…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bernice
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 12:50:33

    Dear Joyce, if tools could make a great cardmaker, they would be as numerous as blades of grass. (I learned this the hard way.) Go slow, learn to do beautiful, simple things with just the simplest of tools, paper, measures, scissors, coloring medium, and skill before moving to conveniences like die-cutting machines, etc. That is my philosophy and I know I am in a minority. Find your own style. Make your cards look like you and no one else.

    I have to love a card before it leaves my house. Until I love it, it is a work in progress or headed for the circular file. A thirty minute card–I don’t think so. Sorry to preach. Clean and Simple is not the dominant style, but so satisfying for me I don’t care that my cards look naked compared to others.

    As to border punches, here is a site for Fiskars punches at half the price in stores with Free shipping. I love punches. http://stores.ebay.com/TheCraftDeal/Paper-Punches-/_i.html?_fsub=662873016&_sid=861530416&_trksid=p4634.c0.m322

    Sorry to be so wordy, but I see you struggling to find your own card-making style. Good luck.

    Bernice

    Reply

    • Joyce Irvin Harris
      Jan 07, 2013 @ 22:06:18

      Bernice…

      Thanks for your comment! I appreciate both your admonition and encouragement. You’re so very right. Tools do not make a great cardmaker. However, having the right tools and mastering how to use them will definitely get you closer to the results you desire. Some people are CAS crafters who can produce breathtaking pieces with the simple tools you mentioned. For others, the style they desire requires more sophisticated tools.

      It’s true, I am struggling to find my style. That’s part of being a novice — figuring out where you fit. The struggle is a huge part of the adventure. Over the next several months, I’ll be exploring the Shabby Chic style which has a vintage country feel. People have been kind enough to gift me with paper and ephemera to support that exploration. I’m glad that you’ll be supporting me as I grow.

      Thanks again and Blessings!

      BTW, thanks for the tip on Fiskar punches!

      Reply

  2. Bernice
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 19:04:04

    Joyce, I had time to check out your gallery in SOC and you should stop calling yourself a “novice.” You have long outgrown that status. Your work is wonderful! More like “master” paper crafter would better describe you.

    Reply

    • Joyce Irvin Harris
      Jan 07, 2013 @ 22:08:57

      Bernice, it’s good to know that someone thinks I’m well on the way to being a master papercrafter. I have so much more to learn before I’m comfortable claiming that title. But you sure make me feel good as you offer it!

      Blessings!

      Reply

  3. Karen A.
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 19:26:25

    Cute story Joyce! I can’t wait to read the next installment.

    Reply

  4. FranCine
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 21:45:03

    Congratulations on your Blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Still Waters

Thoughts of a 2nd Generation Korean-American Pastor and Mother

THE WIRE

by Pastor Robert Earl Houston

Redora Lee Card Designs

A Place To Begin Card Making

